Date: 15th January 2018 at 7:52pm
Written by:

West Bromwich Albion are represented in the latest Premier League team of the week that has been selected by BBC pundit Garth Crooks.

Actually Garth is now down as a ‘Football Analyst’ these days, a posh term for a pundit then!

The performance by Jonny Evans in the two nil victory over Brighton at the weekend at The Hawthorns was enough to earn them a place in the side alongside the other, in the opinion of the former Spurs striker anyway, most impressive performers in the topflight over the latest weekend.

I think we’ll already know ourselves, and not just based on the latest performance, why Crooks, we’ll also not argue with it, selected Evans as part of his team but explaining his choice he told the BBC.

‘Considering the speculation surrounding the future of Jonny Evans his goal celebration against Brighton seemed to suggest that the Northern Ireland international is quite happy where he is. It may be that Alan Pardew has to sell him before he is allowed to buy in the transfer window but it strikes me that the defender’s response to his brilliant header was so joyous that it would take an awful lot for him to leave. He clearly has a tremendous amount of affection for the club. It is also clear to me that Pardew is developing a team again at The Hawthorns. The camaraderie and spirit displayed after both goals was there for all to see. The Baggies are also starting to play a brand of football that belongs in the 21st Century again and their players look like they are enjoying it. Whatever happens to Evans in the future, he has been a model professional and he deserves the game’s gratitude.’

It’s always good to see the club represented in this way, and well played to Evans for his recognition, but the most important thing about the weekend was of course the points.

Full Team:

Wayne Hennessey (Crystal Palace), Andreas Christensen (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Leicester City), Jonny Evans (West Bromwich Albion), Son Heung-min (Tottenham Hotspur), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Liverpool), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton), Manuel Lanzini (West Ham), Marko Arnautovic (West Ham), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool), Sadio Mane (Liverpool)